A Song For You

I attach memories to songs–memories of former lovers, of failures and even of childhood dreams. In turn, these songs become than just melodies and lyrics, they become mementos–mementos of a boyfriend who broke my heart more often than I received letters from him, of another who left and will come back, but will never return.

It happens each time.

I put on my headphones. I hurriedly turn to one of my playlists. I click on a song, and as in Kathleen Kelly of You’ve Got M@il, my breath catches in my chest as the song starts to play. I hear nothing. Not even a sound on the streets, just the beating of my own heart, as the songs takes me to places and people I’ve been and been with.

Why don’t you try it for yourself? Here are five of my most cherished songs, with artist and title plus my favorite line/s. These songs are unreleased and are still blank canvasses to which you could glue a memory to, yourself.

1. When Did You Fall by Chris Rice

Was it at the coffee shop
Or that morning at the bus stop
When you almost slipped, and I caught your hand
Or the time we built the snowman
The day at the beach, sandy and warm
Or the night with the scary thunderstorm

Don’t you just wonder sometimes how someone fell in love with you? Where? When? How did he realize it? This song captures that perfectly, that first smile you tried to hide, but also secretly wanted that person to notice.

2. Hot Air Balloon by Owl City

I’ll be out of my mind
And you’ll be out of ideas
Pretty soon
So let’s spend
The afternoon in a cold hot air balloon

This song captures the zest of relationships–how simple lemonades can be as refreshing, chilling as swimming in the Great Lakes. Feel good, feel good song.

3. Stargazing by Leon Jackson

And oh, now
Life feels more than amazing
In your eyes
It feels like I’ve been stargazing

Obviously the sappiest song of the bunch, Stargazing is all about feeling so thankful for finding that love–seeing in those eyes someone you’d want to be with for the rest of your life. This is the perfect song to use when you’re proposing to someone.

4. The Last Time by Eric Benet

After everything I’ve learned;
Now it’s finally my turn.
This is the last time I’ll fall… in love.

If the previous song was perfect for the proposal, this one is definitely the wedding song. No wonder this one is most popular of the bunch, a lot of couples just want to have that ‘last time’ pact.

5. Fingerprints by Leon Jackson

I’m no good at long goodbyes
But baby I can learn
I wanna leave you with the kind
Of exit you deserve
So lock the room and let’s turn
off all the ringing phones
Why don’t we make it you and me
yeah me and you alone

I’ll leave you to listen on this last one 🙂

Don’t you just want to thank God for the gift of music? No wonder in our imaginations of heaven, angels are playing harps.

Leave a Reply

