ACOMM Relapse

About three things I was absolutely positive. First, ACOMM was an organization. Second, there was part of it — and I didn’t know how potent that part might be — that thirsted for creative juices. And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with the organization.

The past few weeks have been bittersweet– we’ve been celebrating the organization’s successes for the school year, as we’ve also been easing in a new set of leaders, the next brand of ACOMM leadership. But at the same time, we, ACOMM seniors, have been slowly letting go of our responsibilites; our duties that range from housekeeping chores to creative work itself. And by housekeeping chores I mean administrative work and systems implementation, not tasks such as cleaning the ACOMM room or washing the dirty matress in the said room.

Safe to say, I’ve been coping very well with the said parting. The last core meeting provided proper work transition, and individual consultations helped each one understand values and changes needed. After last week’s Culminating Night, in which most of us cried our hearts out (even tough guy Ben Pablo was teary-eyed), I became less restless and more excited for ACOMM’s future.

I think I just needed a good cry. I got that in Culm Night.

But during today’s MCA transition seminar, as I shared with everyone the Five Things I love about MCA and the Five Things I love about Bianca R, I cried again.

Again.

But this time the tears were because of something else–not the goodbye, not the parting–they were because of a sense of fulfillment.

I cried because we were able to accomplish parts of what we wanted to do, because I was so happy with how the year turned out, with how many people we reached out to. I wouldn’t change a single thing, a single thing, if I could. Even the typographical errors in the modules I made, even the lyrical failures.

It was such an amazing experience. Being in ACOMM and all. Truly the highlight of my 4-year stay in Ateneo.

The next pages are for you, Bianca.

And as for ACOMM, thank you.

I have wished you only joy since first I saw you.

One thought on “ACOMM Relapse

Leave a Reply

