Moving out, Moving on

While thinking of life after graduation scares me, there’s one thing I look forward to–finding and moving to a new home.

For four years, I lived, not just stayed, in Golden Crescent Mansions, a 4-storey building nestled in front of the Ateneo with around 80 studio-type rooms. I lived alone, with McDonald’s and Jolibee as my partners in nutrition.

My stay inside this room has been wonderful–one, the building is conveniently located just behind McDonald’s, two, virtually no pests, three, room problems are quickly addressed and fourth, security has been for the most part, tight.

More over, GCM, as my family calls it, has played host to wonderful memories– lovers who shared with me game nights, friends who turned this dull room into Matteo Ricci, and even a Gateway Cineplex.

To say the least, GCM has become a home to me–I have come to love the noisy drunks I hear every night at Drew’s, the occasional Tricycle drag races I watch from my window that usually end up catastrophic, and even the fireworks I sometimes see, again from my window, either from celebrations in the Ateneo or UP.

But I guess its time to move on. I’ve become too familiar with the surroundings, and I actually want to move on while all my memories are still good ones.

Isn’t it quite sad to still live in Katipunan after you’ve graduated from the Ateneo?

And so it goes. In a few weeks, the hunt for a new home will ensue–as I have carefully crossed out the option of living with my sister in LGV and my relatives in Rockwell. Really, no thanks. πŸ™‚

I’m still quite unsure where I’ll be and what I’ll be doing by June–but I know what I want to do in my new home.

I want to splatter a wall with lomo pictures, lots of it–pictures of trips, friends, college, and most especially ACOMM. In another wall, I want to put framed pictures of family, most especially of Charles. I want a proper bookshelf, one that can accomodate all my books, even those I left at home. I want more space for bean bags and even chairs, just cause I wanna invite more friends. You see, I have a mental picture of how I’d want it to look, and how it’ll feel.

The prospects are exciting, the future is exciting.

On to the next one, as Jay-Z would say πŸ™‚

My walls will be filled with pictures like this πŸ™‚

One thought on “Moving out, Moving on

Leave a Reply

