Obligatory 52nd Grammy Awards Predictions

Brandy and Monica were still teenagers then, wearing elephant pants and dark lipsticks, singing about a boy they both love in “The Boy is Mine.” Neither one of them expected it, but they earned a nod for Record of the Year.

And there I was—the budding homo, giddy about my favorites’ nomination, happy that I knew at least one song in that nominations list. I didn’t know what this award giving body was, or what it meant, but I knew that Brandy & Monica had to win.

Thankfully, ABC 5 aired the live telecast of the 42nd Grammy Awards. I jotted down categories, all the nominees under it, and encircled the winners as they were announced, while anticipating the final and most coveted award—the one where Brandy & Monica were nominated in.

Sadly, Brandy & Monica lost Record of the Year, but that morning, when I was writing down the artists and the awards on a baby blue notebook with Simba and Nala on the front & back cover, I knew that was something I had to do every year.

Since 1999, I’ve been watching the music industry’s most prestigious award being given away to the likes of Shania Twain, Alicia Keys, John Mayer, Norah Jones and Adele. My favorite moment ever was when Mariah, after her nervous breakdown, seemingly rose above again with her performance of “We Belong Together.” It was as if she was singing to the award, “o baby, baby, we belong together…” She took home three that night.

And contrary year 1999, this year, I know by heart, all the five nominees for Record of the Year, and more. Safe to say that this is the year I know the most number of songs nominated.

Allow me, the fan and the self-proclaimed expert, to offer you my opinions and predictions for the 52nd Grammy Awards. A total of 104 awards will be given out this year, and here is my forecast for 11 of them.

Best Score Soundtrack Album for Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media

  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • Milk
  • Star Trek
  • Up

Dark Horse: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Always been nominated throughout the years
Personal Choice & Frontrunner: Up
Up’s soundtrack has so many things going for it—the movie itself received critical acclaim, Up’s composers are past winners and Up’s soundtrack is more integral to the movie itself compared to the other nominees, sometimes even acts as plot devices. And c’mon, which score is most memorable?

Best Compilation Soundtrack Album for Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media

  • Cadillac Records
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • Slumdog Millionaire
  • True Blood
  • Twilight

Dark Horse: Twilight
Powered by indie bands, Twilight actually has the fangs needed to win.
Personal Choice: Cadillac Records
Just because Beyonce is in this album, I’d want this soundtrack to win.
Frontrunner: Slumdog Millionaire
C’mon, this soundtrack already won an Oscar.

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

  • Ego – Beyonce & Kanye West
  • Knock You Down – Keri Hilson, Kanye West & Ne-Yo
  • Run This Town – Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West
  • I’m On A Boat – The Lonely Island & T-Pain
  • Dead And Gone – T.I & Justin Timberlake

Dark Horse: Ego – Beyonce & Kanye West
Her fierceness just stretches to all genres, and since the Grammys loves sweeps, Beyonce might just win this one as well.
Personal Choice: Run This Town – Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West
Frontrunner: Run This Town – Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West
Jay-Z has ruled this category a couple of times already, and given the competition, he’ll most likely win this year again. But the real winner is Kanye West—he has a 60% chance of winning.

Best Dance Recording

  • Boom Boom Pow – The Black Eyed Peas
  • When Love Takes Over – David Guetta & Kelly Rowland
  • Poker Face – Lady Gaga
  • Celebration – Madonna
  • Womanizer – Britney Spears

Dark Horse: Womanizer – Britney Spears
Long overdue, don’t you think so? She’s also reached some sort of maturity in her career, so critics might award her a Grammy.
Personal Choice: When Love Takes Over – David Guetta & Kelly Rowland
Although Kelly Rowland practically butchered the notes in their performance in the Ms. Universe pageant, this one is the most authentic dance recording among the lot.
Frontrunners: Poker Face – Lady Gaga / Boom Boom Pow – The Black Eyed Peas
Need I say why? Madonna’s song seems like a rehash of her old songs, critics will def not award her this one.

Best Pop Vocal Album

  • The E.N.D – The Black Eyed Peas
  • Breakthrough – Colbie Caillat
  • All I Ever Wanted – Kelly Clarkson
  • The Fray – The Fray
  • Funhouse – Pink

Dark Horse: The Fray – The Fray
Simply coz it’s the less overplayed, although it is overplayed itself.
Personal Choice: All I Ever Wanted – Kelly Clarkson
Save her career please! 19 Ent just pulled out all promo for this album.
Frontrunner: The E.N.D – The Black Eyed Peas
They’ll definitely win. Sweep or no sweep.

Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals

  • Sea of Heartbreak – Rosanne Cash & Bruce Springsteen
  • Love Sex Magic – Ciara & Justin Timberlake
  • Lucky – Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat
  • Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Willie Nelson & Norah Jones
  • Breathe – Taylor Swift & Colbie Caillat

Dark Horse: Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Willie Nelson & Norah Jones
Remained under the radar, might surpise everyone
Personal Choice: Lucky – Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat
Frontrunner: Lucky – Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat
There’s a reason why I put this on the list of 10 LSS songs of the year in Spot.ph.

Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals

  • I Gotta Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas
  • We Weren’t Born to Follow – Bon Jovi
  • Never Say Never – The Fray
  • Sara Smile – Daryl Hall & John Oates
  • Kids – MGMT

Dark Horse: Never Say Never – The Fray
Perennial dark horse!
Personal Choice: I Gotta Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas
Frontrunner: I Gotta Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas
No other nominee captures ‘pop’ better than this one.

Best Female Pop Vocal Performance

  • Hometown Glory – Adele
  • Halo – Beyonce
  • Hot N Cold – Katy Perry
  • Sober – Pink
  • You Belong With Me – Taylor Swift

Dark Horse: Hometown Glory – Adele
The Brits are just perennial dark horses in the Grammys. Haha.
Personal Choice: Hot N Cold – Katy Perry
Just coz I want her to win one
Frontrunner: Halo – Beyonce
You Belong With Me is supposed to be country, right?

Song of the Year

  • Poker Face – Lady Gaga
  • Pretty Wings – Maxwell
  • Single Ladies (Put a Ring on it) – Beyonce
  • Use Somebody – Kings of Leon
  • You Belong With Me – Taylor Swift

Dark Horse: Use Somebody – Kings of Leon
Personal Choice: Use Somebody – Kings of Leon
If were talking about the song itself, then the Kings of Leon should clearly take this one. I mean, the song’s so good that tons of artists made their own versions. No other song has shown such flexibility.
Frontrunner: Single Ladies (Put a Ring on it) – Beyonce
But yeah, this song by Beyonce explores a different flexibility—in leotards and in body oil. Song of the year will go to Beyonce because no other song among the nominees has been as far reaching and engaging.

Album of the Year

  • I Am… Sasha Fierce – Beyonce
  • The E.N.D – The Black Eyed Peas
  • The Fame – Lady Gaga
  • Big Whiskey and the Groogux King – Dave Matthews Band
  • Fearless –Taylor Swift

Dark Horse: The E.N.D – The Black Eyed Peas
Simply because country voters will be divided to Dave Matthews band & Taylor Swift, and feministic critics will be divided to Beyonce and Lady Gaga
Personal Choice: I Am… Sasha Fierce – Beyonce
In 10 years, I will look back and remember 2009 for this album.
Frontrunner: Fearless –Taylor Swift
Although it pains me to say this, Taylor Swift might just win because of her ability to market ‘country’ music to such a wide audience. But I still think Beyonce deserves this one.

Record of the Year
If you’re wondering what the difference is between this award and song of the year, well, song of the year is awarded to the songwriter, while this one is awarded to the artist and to the producer(s), recording Engineer(s) and/or Mixer(s). Simply put, record of the year is the award for the song’s entirety (editing, production, etc.), not just the music and lyrics.

  • Halo – Beyonce
  • I Gotta Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas
  • Use Somebody – Kings of Leon
  • Poker Face – Lady Gaga
  • You Belong With Me – Taylor Swift

Dark Horse: Use Somebody – Kings of Leon
While this song is also overplayed, the other 4 were EXTREMELY overplayed. Perfect way of saying that the Grammys is an unbiased, artistic award.
Personal Choice: I Gotta Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas
What song would you want to look back to? For me, it would be I Gotta Feeling, because were looking at the song’s entirety, and this one obviously shows our milestones in music production and editing. Auto-tune is exceptional anyway, when used properly.
Frontrunner: You Belong With Me – Taylor Swift
Halo isn’t as strong a song as Single Ladies, so Taylor Swift was practically given an advantage in this category. Again, it pains me to say this as I think this song (1) reinforces the culture of ‘coolness’, (2) shows no lyrical maturity (hello she wears high heels and I wear sneakers), and (3) butchers country music, but this one might just win, as propelled by Kanye West.

I simply cannot wait for the 52nd Grammy Awards on the 30th of January. 10 years after my introduction to the awards, here I am, obsessing over and prophesizing the awards. Will my favorite win Record of the Year this time?

6 thoughts on “Obligatory 52nd Grammy Awards Predictions

  1. Hey, I’m a Grammy nut too! But for different reasons I guess. I don’t think I’ve ever rooted for Brandy or Monica or Mariah. Haha

    I seem to remember Britney already having a best Dance Recording Grammy (for “Toxic”?). I know this because I love Basement Jaxx and was rooting for them that year. Haha. So yeah, Lady Gaga probably has this in the bag.

    I’m actually not sure of a Beyonce sweep. I have a feeling that she’ll end up getting mostly genre awards and nada in the General categories. “Single Ladies” has always seemed to me too dance-y, too R&B to ever get a General category Grammy. I especially can’t see it winning SOTY since that’s a songwriters’ award. I don’t see the academy awarding a songwriters’ award to a song with four songwriters and a singer with dubious songwriting credits. (She’s known to “steal” songs, right? Like change one word then put her name in the credits?)

    My predictions:
    SOTY – “Use Somebody” or “You Belong With Me”
    ROTY – “Halo” or “Use Somebody” (Remember Coldplay’s “Clocks” upset a few years back? I see KOL doing that with SOTY or ROTY)
    AOY – Fearless (It’s the biggest-selling album of the year. The sales-challenged industry will want to thank her for keeping the industry afloat.)

  2. Hi Raymond! 🙂 Enjoyed reading your comment 🙂 I do hope for a Beyonce sweep though :/ As you can probably tell by now. Haha.

    1) Wow. Someone’s so well versed about the Grammys. You’re probably right, Lady Gaga takes this one.
    2) I’ll take a KOL upset anytime.
    3) I do hope that the Grammy for AOY goes to the artist/s who deserve/s it. Supposed to be an award for artistic merit, not a token for record sales. Taylor Swift is cute but Fearless is a bunch of ‘short-skirts’ songs put together. God forbid, please.

  3. Before I reply: NERD KA, GRABE.

    Moving on. I agree with most of your predictions, although I feel that Lady Gaga should win record/album of the year because that woman single-handedly revolutionized pop music it’s freaking CRAZY. I kind of think she doesn’t get the credit that she deserves (but then again, that’s just me).

    I would also like to see MGMT’s Kids to win BPV just because that song kicks so much ass in so many ways.

    I am kind of fearful that Taylor Swift will dominate the Grammys with the most nominations if Beyonce doesn’t get it. I was never really a TS fan, so you know, it’d be a shame if she wins most of the awards. Kings of Leon should win something too. Their album was intense.

    I MISS YOU JEFFERSON! :>

Leave a Reply

