Postcrossing

Postcrossers answer a Miss Universe 1969 Question

A couple of months ago, my friend Candice got me and another friend Mich (who blogs here) hooked on Postcrossing — a social networking site of sorts where you get to trade postcards with strangers from different nations. As you can see, my work desk has already been filled with postcards, and I even have a world map where I put a pin on places I’ve received postcards from. The cool thing about it all is that you can personalize your postcard requests — some want more stamps, some request for specific types of postcards like ad cards or yo!cards, it’s all so fun, really. While Cands requests for newspaper clippings, I actually ask postcrossers certain questions from Miss Universe. For the first set of postcards I requested, I had them answer the question asked to the very first Filipina Miss Universe, Gloria Diaz.

“If a man from the moon landed on your hometown, what would you do to entertain him?”

“We have great piers in Parnu, so we’d take a walk, listening some open air concerts, eating blood sausages and sauerkraut. Walking in parks and visit some farms to see real life in the Earth”

I had to google what blood sausages and sauerkraut were :) Basically these sausages are cooked in blood, topped with Sauerkraut which is shredded cabbage. Hope one day I can try this.

“If a person arrived in San Francisco from the moon, I would first take them on a night tour of Alcatraz Island, the old federal prison.”

“I hope he speaks my language so that I can ask him to take me with him to the moon.”

“It is very difficult to answer your questions! I wander why you ask it. In fact, UFO were seen several times in Jerusalem, there are even videos in YouTube. But I had not meet them, and I hope, I will not.”

“I think if the man from the moon will land in our city, I’ll be so frightened that I simply run away.”

“Oh… I don’t know because I am from Mars :D Wow… I have idea. I give to my friend from moon the chocolate MARS :) and ask him about it.”

I personally found the last three very funny. Eda’s funny, she thought of just running away :))

I think my question lacked context tho since man first landed on the moon in the year 1969, so some of them thought of aliens instead.

Try postcrossing and see for yourself how fun it can get :)

4 thoughts on “Postcrossers answer a Miss Universe 1969 Question

  1. Pingback: Postcrossers answer a Miss Universe 2002 Question |

Leave a Reply

